Mills FOK Vender payout short on larger wins

This is the area to talk about everything regarding repairing and restoring machines.

Mills FOK Vender payout short on larger wins

Postby SnootyDrinkingRoom » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:46 pm

I’ve noticed that when I hit wins of 8 or more on my Mills FOK Vender the payout is short one coin. So, two cherries pays 2, two cherries then lemon pays 4, three oranges pays 7 ( should be 8 ) three plums pays 11 (should be 12) etc.

Any idea where to start to troubleshoot this? Please explain like I’m 5. I’m new to vintage slots and I still have a long way to go to learn what everything is called and how the mechanism works. I guess this is a good place to start.

Here’s a couple Imgur albums from when I had the mech out of the box:
https://imgur.com/gallery/4F3XXdH
https://imgur.com/gallery/iwchkg7

Thanks!
SnootyDrinkingRoom

Re: Mills FOK Vender payout short on larger wins

Postby kentdun » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:59 pm

The payouts are paid by thickness. If you are using newer nickels it can affect payouts. Older coins are a bit thinner.
There is probably an older thread on this topic.
kentdun

Postby SnootyDrinkingRoom » Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:02 pm

It does make sense that the payouts go by thickness. Are newer quarters thicker than their 1920’s counterparts? I forgot to mention that it’s a quarter machine.

Also, is this adjustable? Or just something that we must accept if playing with modern coins?
SnootyDrinkingRoom

Postby radiorich123 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:12 pm

I use old buffalo nickels and then the pay outs are correct.

Rich
REPAIRS ANTIQUE RADIOS AND COIN OPERATED MACHINES EMAIL
radiorich123@yahoo.com
WEB SIGHT www.technician.50megs.com
radiorich123

Postby kentdun » Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:23 pm

Not sure if new quarters are thicker. Quarters of the day were silver and wore down faster. It might take a bit of investment filling it with older silver quarters. Ones with the dates worn off would be cheaper.
kentdun