Mills Hightop 10 Cent - Payout issue

This area is to discuss slot machines. A slot machine is defined as a machine that pays the customer something of value (coin, token, etc.) when a winning combination is hit.

This area created on 2/7/17

Mills Hightop 10 Cent - Payout issue

Postby CoinOpNick » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:31 pm

I am new to slot machine and this is my first post on this forum. I have a Mills Hightop 1948 slot machine. When I got it it was not able to cycle. After a bit of research I took the entire mech and escalator apart and cleaned them all with degreaser. I then resembled everything and replaced those springs needing replacing (thanks to Dave at MRSLOT1). Once I got everything together I was still having all sorts of issues. The reels were rubbing and not spinning much at all when in the machine. Also, the coins were jamming in the escalator. I eventually figured out the mechanism was just short of sitting flush on the sub-floor. I had to bend the tabs at the front of the sub-floor to get it that little extra bit, but once I did it solved the reels rubbing issue and the escalator locking up. After this the payout was even working including the jackpot, but now for some reason the payout has stopped working. When I checked the slides there was a dime stuck between the bottom slide and the one above it. I removed it, but now it appears that bottom slide is slightly out of adjustment with the other. I don't know that is an issue, but seems odd to me (see picture). Also, when I check the horizontal fingers I notice that the bottom one (which appears to be bronze) is not pushing that slide quite enough forward (see picture). Again, I don't know this is the issue as I did not check it when it was working. Since this is my first slot machine please excuse any ignorance if I am referring to any of the parts incorrectly.
Attachments
Image-2.jpg