Looks too clean.....Rockola Official Sweepstakes Horse Race

See a listing on E-Bay and want to discuss it? Want to rant about Ebay? All E-Bay related discussion should go here.

Looks too clean.....Rockola Official Sweepstakes Horse Race

Postby edboyles » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:23 pm

I hvae heard about the Rockola Sweeptakes horse race being reproduced and after seeing this Ebay item looks like it fits the bill. What do you think........

http://tinyurl.com/arcvxnk
edboyles

Re: Looks too clean.....Rockola Official Sweepstakes Horse R

Postby Dave » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:21 pm

I am not an expert on this game.

I have heard one way to tell the fakes from the real one is that the people making the fakes don't put the tilt peg on them.

The seller states that this machine is missing the tilt peg. Hmmmm, makes me suspicious.

It seems like there is always one or two of these fakes that show up at live auctions.

Dave
Dave
Site Admin

Postby terick2104 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:57 pm

How do I stop getting these emails?
terick2104

Postby watlingboy » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:39 pm

Boy, this is a tough one. The cabinet has been refinished or replaced. The groves are supposed to be painted gold. I have owned this machine and lots of it looks original. Most of the repro versions are the ones with the gumball vender, because it is more desireable and brings more money. The back door looks absolutely correct including the reject button. Can't believe someone would put that in. As far as the tilt pin, the majority of these have that missing because the chain which holds it up is so fragile. The repro ones I've seen have the tilt pin hole filled in That threaded rod which shows the winning horse is a replacement. Mech looks old, I think its original with some replacement parts.

Watlingboy
watlingboy

Postby SLOT DYNASTY » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:29 am