Please forgive the ignorance, I'm new to this

This is the area to talk about everything regarding repairing and restoring machines.

Please forgive the ignorance, I'm new to this

Postby OHO » Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:00 pm

Hello, and thanks for looking. I have a Mills HH 5 cent machine, recently refinished, and I have been having issues with it. I was hoping for some assistance. The largest issue that I have is that the coins dropping out of the escalator will occasionally jam into the throat of the collecting tube, and will stop additional coins from falling, resulting in the piling up of coins and eventually jamming of the machine. Do I need to lubricate the throat, use cleaner nickels, clean the escalator drop area?

Secondly, there is a collection cup in the upper right hand corner of the machine, and it would collect any coins that I have pulled out of the escalator when it jams. On the second jam repair, I noticed several more coins in this cup than what I left the last time. Can anyone tell me the other functions of the cup?

Lastly, is there a source that anyone can point me to that would show an exploded view of a slot machine so that I could learn the name of the parts? Kinda frustrating using terms like "throat of the collecting tube" in hopes that you might know what I am describing.

THANKS in advance for any assistance!
OHO

Re: Please forgive the ignorance, I'm new to this

Postby atac » Fri Jun 26, 2020 3:17 pm