Unknown part on Mills castle front slot machine jackpot mech

This area is to discuss slot machines. A slot machine is defined as a machine that pays the customer something of value (coin, token, etc.) when a winning combination is hit.

This area created on 2/7/17

Unknown part on Mills castle front slot machine jackpot mech

Postby crazycrabman » Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:06 pm

Heyo! I'm in the process of repairing an old Mills castle front slot machine that used to sit in my Grandparents liquor store. It was completely inoperable, but a complete tear-down, unjamming, and re-greasing fixed almost everything!

Unfortunately the jackpot still doesn't work and does not pay out. Interestingly enough, the reserve still works, and dumps the coins into the already-full jackpot holder (apologies for any terminology mistakes, I'm new to all of this).
After watching some videos on the inner mechanics of the jackpot mechanism, I tracked down the issue to this piece on the side.

It appears to be locking the payout flap in place. The little arm seems like it should be pressing on something in the mech, but there doesn't seem to be anything to press down on it. It does look pretty bent up, though. Taping it down to the jackpot chute solves the problem, but that's a total band-aid solution. I was wondering if any of you guys knew what the purpose of this piece was and how I could fix it.
crazycrabman

Re: Unknown part on Mills castle front slot machine jackpot

Postby rosekiller454356 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:49 am

This is the older version of the Mills jackpot. I have this jackpot version on my Mills Black Cherry, however this lever on my machine is straight and
is designed to butt against the shaft of the reel stop levers. When the mechanism is placed into the cabinet, the jackpot lever will be pushed forward and
thus "arm" the jackpot. From the looks of your jackpot lever it appears it has been intentionally bent. Hopes this info helps.
rosekiller454356